Genesis 12:1-8; Exodus 3:1-12

Did you ever have a time, I’m thinking work-related here, where you were pouring everything you had into it, just exhausting yourself mentally and physically yet the objective kept moving farther away, or so it seemed at least?  Somewhere in the battle someone cared enough to notice to say, “Hey, let’s go for a walk… or go get lunch… or meet for breakfast?”  If you’re anything like me, your response went something like, “I really appreciate it, but I gotta get this report out.  How about next week?” and they loved you enough to say, “You need to get away and talk.  Let’s go now.  I know you, you’ll get the report done. Close the computer, let’s walk and talk.”  I pray, resisting every fiber of your being, you said yes and the short interlude in their company opened a door revealing the very breakthrough you needed.

walkWell, that is where I was this time last year.  Jesus had been calling me to take that walk with him and I kept saying, “As soon as busy season passes… as soon as I get this loan closed… as soon as the budget gets approved…” for over a year.  Finally, I put the pen down and closed the computer.  I said yes to going for the walk.

Over the next several months, Jesus and I went for an exploratory walk.  I prayed for a revelational breakthrough. I prayed for insight.  I prayed for a new adventure… his adventure.

I had no idea what he had in mind, but new streams of musings resulted and a book (Disciple is a Verb) as well; followed by the inspiration for two more to come. It is amazing what God can do when we step back and stare into the burning bush placed directly in our path.

dav-ad

He walks with me and talks with me and tells me I am his own,

Robert