Deuteronomy 6:4-9

I have developed a fascination with The Shema. I find myself returning to it again and again. The other day I slowed down and meditated on it one word at a time. As a refresher, here is the Shema:

Sh’ma Yisrael Adonai Eloheinu Adonai Ecḥad.

I’ve been coached on how to pronounce the words in Hebrew, but since I have zero fluency in Hebrew, I have to take it on in English for it to have any meaning for me. The English translation is – “Hear, O Israel: the LORD is our God, the LORD is One.”

In that morning’s meditation, I broke it down word by word, savoring each word and resting on its contribution to the prayer.

Hear – Stop! Pay attention! Listen!

O – An exclamation indicating what follows is noteworthy; it’s important.

Israel – The people of God; also the name given Jacob after wrestling with the man/angel/God on the banks of the River Jabbok, which means “wrestles with God and man.” These are the people who wrestle with God and with man.

The – An article of specificity. Not a, not an, not some, but the. Singular.

Lord – Sovereign. The one to whom I owe allegiance. One on whom people rely for sustenance and for protection from one’s enemies.

Is – Not in the past. Not dead and gone. Not something hoped for in the future. What exists in the here and now. Something to be experienced in this moment.

Our – Plural. Shared, communal. Personal. Ours, not theirs.

God – A supernatural supreme being whose powers exceed those of this natural world. Gods in general were/are assumed to reign supreme over some aspect of our existence (e.g., sun, rain, love, fertility). In this proclamation, God is deemed to be the creator of the world/cosmos and reigns supreme over all aspects of our existence.

The – An article of specificity. Not a, not an, not some, but the. Singular.

Lord – In the context of God as used above, Lord intones the supreme sovereign to whom we owe allegiance, and on whom we rely for sustenance and protection from threats both earthly and spiritual.

Is – Not in the past. Not dead and gone. Jesus promised to be with us always, even to the end of the age. A source of strength and comfort in the present.

One – Singular. Not one among many. Not two, not three, not ten, not a hundred. One!

Here you have my initial breakdown of The Shema. It was indeed illuminating for me. As I turned the words over again and again, carefully examining each one, they began to take on new hues and textures.

I assure you if you settle yourself quietly and work slowly through a favorite Bible passage word by word, you will find new meaning in well-worn passages. Furthermore, you will find new depth of meaning and will find new dimension in your relationship with God.

Torah Scroll 2


Humbled, yet assured,
Robert

NOTE:  I am currently looking back across the ten years of McBurnett’s Musings. I realize most of you have not been here from the beginning so many will be new for you, others will be familiar and I hope you benefit from the memories. I have selected my favorites (those that meant/mean most to me).