John 8:1-11; 1 Peter 2:2b-5; Revelation 2:17b

In this morning’s reflection and meditation, I was struck (thankfully not literally) by how prevalent stones are in the Bible. I did a quick search for “stone” on Biblegateway and 332 references popped up immediately. I will not take you on a journey through the full 332. In my meditation though, three came to the forefront.

Past Tense

Stony Ground

Probably the first scriptural passage which comes to mind for most people when you say “stone” is the parable of the woman caught in adultery. Jesus said, “He who is without sin among you, let him throw the first stone at her.” This is one of Jesus’ most memorable parables for a whole host of reasons. When I ponder this parable in depth, I sometimes see myself as the woman and at others as one in the crowd. One lingering thought is that as the story ends, she is indeed in the presence of the “one without sin” and he has no words of condemnation, only words of healing and restoration.

Present Tense

Stone Archway

One of my very favorite passages is found in 1 Peter, “as newborn babies, long for the pure milk of the Word, that with it you may grow, if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is gracious: coming to him, a living stone, rejected indeed by men, but chosen by God, precious. You also, as living stones, are built up as a spiritual house, to be a holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices, acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.” I am swept away when I envision us “as living stones.” The image of me as a living stone captivates my very being, and then Peter goes on to write I/we are being built as a spiritual house, an image which humbles me to the core. We are the very materials from which God is building his new Temple.

Future Tense

White Stone

I have written elsewhere (He’s With Me), that I once yearned to hear “Well done good and faithful servant” as the one phrase in which I would find the most comfort, but it was replaced by “He’s with me.” I currently stand by that choice, but the scene I hunger for appears in Revelation 2:17b, “I will give him a white stone, and on the stone a new name written, which no one knows but he who receives it. “ Envisioning this moment sends a shiver up my spine.

In this world, it is the height of endearment when someone you love tags you with a nickname, even if it is grounded in sarcasm. It says, “I notice you; you matter to me. You are special.” Jesus gave nicknames to those most dear to him – Cephas and Sons of Thunder come immediately to mind. I haven’t words to describe my anticipation of turning over my white stone to see what name God holds dear for me.

Finding foundation, inspiration and aspiration in God’s book,

Robert

NOTE:  I am currently looking back across the ten years of McBurnett’s Musings. I realize most of you have not been here from the beginning so many will be new for you, others will be familiar and I hope you benefit from the memories. I have selected my favorites (those that meant/mean most to me).